Christ the King High School Honors Class of 2023 Scholarship Winners

Christ the King High School Honors Class of 2023 Scholarship Winners


         Christ the King hosted a dinner in honor of all incoming Class of 2023 freshman scholarship winners last Friday evening.  Parents and students of the incoming class enjoyed a lovely dinner and were awarded certificates for their scholarships by the CK Board of Trustees. 


         “It was a wonderful evening celebrating the achievements and academic success of these young adults.  We look forward to having them at Christ the King for the next four years.  I am confident they will be doing great things,” said Assistant Principal and Director of Admissions, Mr. Steven Giusto.


            Scholarships were also given out in honor of several notable and influential people who have been affiliated with the Christ the King Community:

  •       The Richard Hartman Memorial Scholarship was given to Adonis Cusu (PS/IS 49, Dorothy Bonawit Kole School). Hartman was a Math teacher at CK, whose students and especially the Math Team, became his passion as he was able to motivate and encourage his students to always perform at their best.
  •       The Thomas V. Ognibene Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Nicole Wisniewski (Notre Dame Catholic Academy). Ognibene was Board of Trustees Vice Chairman and first Chairman of the Christ the King Scholarship Committee.  He was dedicated not only to the students and parents of the school, but also as a public servant during his years as a Member of the New York City Council and as the Minority Leader of NYC Council.
  •       The Bernard G. Helldorfer Memorial Scholarship was given to Xavier Espada St. Mary Gate of Heaven Catholic Academy). Helldorfer was member of our Christ the King HS Board of Trustees, serving as Vice Chairman, Counsel as well as Chairman of the Scholarship Committee.  He was a member of our Class of 1973, and inducted to the Christ the King HS Hall of Fame in 1987.
  •       The Robert Normandia Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Alexandra Syta (Notre Dame Catholic Academy). Normandia was on the original committee of 21 to "Save Christ the King High School " and in 1962,  helped the Bishop with His appeal drive to build Christ the King HS.  Mr. Normandia served as Vice-Chairman of the Board of Trustees.


                The Cav. Peter Cardella Memorial Scholarships were awarded to Justine Calcada (MS 202, Robert H. Goddard School) and Alex Mansueto (St. Stanislaus Kostka Catholic Academy).


         The Constance DelVecchio Maltese Memorial Scholarship for the Arts were awarded to Valentina LaPorta (St. Margaret Catholic Academy) and Tyler Timmerman (Salve Regina Catholic Academy).


The Class of 2023 Scholarship winners are (in alphabetical order):


Marko Babic, Isabelle Baksh, Justine Calcada, Layla Charon, Adonis Cusu, Sebastian Cusu, Jacqueline Demirjian, Xavier Espada, Valentina LaPorta, Alex Mansueto, Laila Morales, Madison Orllana, Nicolas Silva, Alexandra Syta, Tyler Timmerman, Monika VonCyga, and Nicole Wisniewski.